logo CRAQ

2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 

Honoured by the National Academy of Sciences of the United States

Holder of the Lorne Trottier Chair in Astrophysics and Cosmology at McGill University, Victoria Kaspi, member of the CRAQ, has been elected member of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States. This distinction is one of the most honorific recognition that can be granted to a scientist in the United States. With more than 2000 exceptional laureates, the list of members composing the Academy is breathtaking. With this election, Professor Kaspi joins the 180 Nobel laureates still alive today as well as world-renowned scientists including Albert Einstein, Alexander Graham Bell and Thomas Edison, all members of the Academy.

Victoria Kaspi and 71 other nominees will officially be established at the National Academy of Sciences during the 148th annual assembly of the organization which will be held in April 2011 in Washington, DC.

Created in 1863 with the mission to "investigate, examine, experiment, and report upon any subject of science or art whenever called upon to do so by any department of the government", The National Academy of Sciences is "an honorific society of distinguished scholars engaged in scientific and engineering research, dedicated to the furtherance of science and technology and to their use of the general welfare".

For more information about the National Academy of Science, please visit: http://www.nasonline.org

The CRAQ congratulates Victoria Kaspi for this prestigious nomination.

Source : McGill Newspress

This web site is for Microsoft Internet Explorer and Firefox.