logo CRAQ

2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 

Valérie Van Grootel is the recipient of the Prix Pierre-Maury.

Valerie did her PhD thesis under the co-supervision of Dr. Stéphane Charpinet (former member of the CRAQ) at the Université Paul-Sabatien (Toulouse, France) and Gilles Fontaine, member of the CRAQ and professor at the Physics Department of the Université de Montréal.

In her Thesis, entitled "Asteroseismological Study of Extreme Horizontal Branch Stars", Valérie exploited the effects of rotation on the pulsation frequencies of hot subdwarf stars. This allowed her to demonstrate that the observed spin-orbit synchronization is not exclusively a surface effect.

The CRAQ congratulates Valérie for the award she received.

The Pierre-Maury price is awarded yearly by the Académie des Sciences de Toulouse to the student with the best Doctorate thesis in France, in the field of aeronautics and aerospace Sciences (including astronomy and astrophysics). The awardee received a medal and a cash price, during the annual ceremony of the Académie des Sciences, on December 6th, 2009.

This web site is for Microsoft Internet Explorer and Firefox.