logo CRAQ

2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 

Awards 2011

The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships
Sébastien Guillot

Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced the names of the 2011 laureates of the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships. Among them is Sebastien Guillot, PhD candidate at the Physics Department of McGill University, and member of the CRAQ. Many research projects at McGill are awarded by the Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship program in a wide variety of fields, from the creation of robotic arms for the recovery of obsolete satellites, to the study of genetic resistance to the tuberculosis bacteria.

CLICK HERE for more informations

The Médaille d'Honneur (Honor medal) of the Québec Parliament.
René Doyon et David Lafrenière

The professor René Doyon and the postdoctoral researcher David Lafrenière at the Physics Department of the Université de Montréal, both members of the CRAQ, are receiving today the Médaille d'Honneur (Honor medal) of the Québec Parliament, together with Christian Marois, PhD graduate from the UdeM and astronomers at the Herzberg Institute for Astrophysics (HIA-NSERC, in Victoria, BC) for their contribution to astronomy with the first photography of a planetary system, outside of our Solar System.

CLICK HERE for more informations

John-C.-Polanyi prize of the NSERC
Victoria Kaspi

A neutron star is the remnant of an exploded star. It is more massive than the Sun but its size is roughly that of a large city like Montreal. This type of object offers possibilities to study the behavior of dense matter because of the extreme gravitational and magnetic forces involved.

By studying these ultra-dense objects, the astrophysicist Victoria Kaspi improved our understanding of fundamental physical laws. She has been awarded the 2010 John-C.-Polanyi prize of the NSERC for her recent discoveries.

CLICK HERE for more informations

Chair in Extragalactic Astrophysics at the University of Cape Town in South Africa
Claude Carignan

Professor Claude Carignan, from the physics department at the Université de Montréal and member of the CRAQ, accepted to take the direction of the "SKA Chair in Extragalactic Multi-Wavelength Astronomy" at the University of Cape Town in South Africa. This prestigious Chair in radio, infrared and optical astronomy, will allow Prof. Carignan to pursue research on galactic evolution and to use one of the world's largest telescopes, the South African Large Telescope.

CLICK HERE for more informations

Top-10 researchers at the Université de Montréal
David Lafrenière

An astrophysicist of the Université de Montréal takes the first photograph of an extrasolar planet. This press release caught the attention of the Time Magazine, of National Geographic, which published superb pictures, of ABC News and several other canadians dailies. David Lafrenière, member of the CRAQ and postdoctoral fellow at the physics department of the UdeM, led a team of researchers behind this discovery.

CLICK HERE for more informations

"Scientific Personality of the year 2010", by La Presse/Radio-Canada
Olivier Daigle

Olivier Daigle, Ph.D. graduate in Physics at the Université de Montréal, was awarded the distinction "Personality of the year 2010" (Personnalité de l'année 2010) in the category Sciences Humaines, Sciences Pures et Technologies, during the 27th Soirée Excellence La Presse/Radio-Canada. This award follows the "Prix de La Dévouverte de l'année 2009" of the Magazine Québec Science, that Olivier shares with his thesis supervisor, Prof. Claude Carignan, for the development of the world's most-sensitive astronomical camera, a cutting-edge observational instrument that the NASA purchased.

CLICK HERE for more informations

This web site is for Microsoft Internet Explorer and Firefox.